Facts & Figures

Ever since its date of founding on December 6, 1993 Oberhavel county has found itself in a state of tension between metropolis and country idyll, between highly specialized technological and industrial site on the one hand and untouched nature on the other and between its historical inheritance and liveable homeland.

From Federal State to Federal State

The Brandenburg County of Oberhavel extends from the northern border of Berlin up to Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania.


Compared to other Brandenburg countys the surface of Oberhavel, with its 1,798 square kilometres, is relatively small. For comparison: Berlin has a surface of scarcely 892 square kilometres.

North-South Extension: 47 Kilometres
East-West Extension: 74 Kilometres

Highest Point: Herrenberge southwest of Fürstenberg near Tiefenbrunn with 107.7 metres above sea level

District Capital: Oranienburg with 43,300 inhabitants


207,228 inhabitants live in Oberhavel. Hence Oberhavel is the second most densely populated county after Potsdam-Mittelmark.


Oranienburg 43,300
Hennigsdorf 26,264
Hohen Neuendorf 25,513
Zehdenick 13,410
Velten 11,767
Kremmen   7,260
Fürstenberg/Havel   5,860
Liebenwalde   4,257


Mühlenbecker Land 14,797
Glienicke/Nordbahn 12,191
Oberkrämer 10,806
Löwenberger Land   8,089
Birkenwerder   7,975
Leegebruch   6,672
Department of Gransee
and Communities

Source: Statistical Office Berlin-Brandenburg (Amt für Statistik Berlin-Brandenburg) as of November 30, 2015